Emergency Water Removal - What You Should Know.


Click on the images below to learn about the three categories of water sources, water damage, and our specialized procedures...                         





The Four Primary Classifications of Water Damage

Along with the three major categories of water damage listed above, there are four classifications relating to the amount of water present.

Class 1

Class 1 is the least amount of water, absorption and evaporation.  It affects only part of a room or area, or larger areas containing materials that have absorbed minimal moisture.  Little or no wet carpet and/or cushion is present.


Class 2

Class 2 involves a large amount of water, absorption and evaporation.  It affects at least an entire room of carpet and cushion (pad).  Water has wicked up walls less than 24 inches.  There is moisture remaining in structural materials and substructure soil.


Class 3

Class 3 involves the greatest amount of water, absorption and evaporation,.  Water may have come from overhead.  Ceilings, walls, insulation, carpet, cushion and subfloor in virtually the entire area are saturated.


Class 4

Class 4 relates to specialty drying situations.  Wet materials with very low permeance/porosity (e.g. hardwood, plaster, brick, concrete, light weight concrete and stone).  Typically, there are deep pockets of saturation, which require very low specific humidity.  These types of losses may require longer drying times and special methods.